Skip to main content

Editorial Content for Cousin Joseph: A Graphic Novel

Reviewer (text)

Barbara Bamberger Scott

Created by one of America’s most gifted cartoonists and cultural commentators for whose work the words “sophisticated” and “satirical” are inextricably linked, COUSIN JOSEPH is the second of Jules Feiffer’s forays into a new genre: the illustrated noir mystery. Read More

Teaser

While in the midst of the Great Depression, Big Sam sees himself as a righteous, truth-seeking patriot, defending the American way against a rising tide of left-wing unionism, strikes and disruption that plague his home town. At the same time, he makes monthly, secret overnight trips on behalf of Cousin Joseph, a mysterious man on the phone he has never laid eyes on, to pay off Hollywood producers to ensure that they will film only upbeat movies that idealize a mythic America. But Sam himself is not in for a happy ending, as step by step the secret of his unseen mentor's duplicity is revealed to him.

Promo

While in the midst of the Great Depression, Big Sam sees himself as a righteous, truth-seeking patriot, defending the American way against a rising tide of left-wing unionism, strikes and disruption that plague his home town. At the same time, he makes monthly, secret overnight trips on behalf of Cousin Joseph, a mysterious man on the phone he has never laid eyes on, to pay off Hollywood producers to ensure that they will film only upbeat movies that idealize a mythic America. But Sam himself is not in for a happy ending, as step by step the secret of his unseen mentor's duplicity is revealed to him.

About the Book

Meet Big Sam Hannigan. Tough, righteous, a man on a mission. Only problem is, it's the wrong mission.

With the New York Times bestseller KILL MY MOTHER, legendary cartoonist Jules Feiffer began an epic saga of American noir fiction. With COUSIN JOSEPH, a prequel that introduces us to bare-knuckled Detective Sam Hannigan, head of the Bay City's Red Squad and patriarch of the Hannigan family featured in KILL MY MOTHER, Feiffer brings us the second installment in this highly anticipated graphic trilogy.

Our story opens in Bay City in 1931 in the midst of the Great Depression. Big Sam sees himself as a righteous, truth-seeking patriot, defending the American way, as his Irish immigrant father would have wanted, against a rising tide of left-wing unionism, strikes and disruption that plague his home town. At the same time he makes monthly, secret overnight trips on behalf of Cousin Joseph, a mysterious man on the phone he has never laid eyes on, to pay off Hollywood producers to ensure that they will film only upbeat films that idealize a mythic America: no warts, no injustice uncorrected, only happy endings.

But Sam, himself, is not in for a happy ending, as step by step the secret of his unseen mentor's duplicity is revealed to him. Fast-moving action, violence and murder in the noir style of pulps and '40s films are melded in the satiric, sociopolitical Feifferian style to dig up the buried fearmongering of the past and expose how closely it matches the headlines, happenings and violence of today.

With COUSIN JOSEPH, Feiffer builds on his late-life conversion to cinematic noir, bowing, as ever, to youthful heroes Will Eisner and Milton Caniff, but ultimately creating a masterpiece that through his unique perspective and comic-strip noir style illuminates the very origins of Hollywood and its role in creating the bipolar nation we've become.

Editorial Content for Level Up

Book

Contributors

Reviewer (text)

Michael Lee Harris

I was drawn to read the graphic novel LEVEL UP, written by Gene Luen Yang with art by Thien Pham, because of Yang's previous book, AMERICAN BORN CHINESE. Like AMERICAN BORN CHINESE, LEVEL UP follows a young Asian American male coming of age while dealing with balancing old world family ideals with newer American cultural norms.

"Gene Luen Yang is his usual charming self in this book. Dennis Ouyang is a likeable character with an extremely relatable struggle."

Teaser

Dennis Ouyang lives in the shadow of his parents' high expectations. They want him to go to med school and become a doctor. Dennis just wants to play video games --- and he might actually be good enough to do it professionally. But four adorable, bossy, and occasionally terrifying angels arrive just in time to lead Dennis back onto the straight and narrow: the path to gastroenterology. It's all part of the plan, they tell him. But is it? This powerful piece of magical realism brings into sharp relief the conflict many teens face between pursuing their dreams and living their parents'.

Promo

Dennis Ouyang lives in the shadow of his parents' high expectations. They want him to go to med school and become a doctor. Dennis just wants to play video games --- and he might actually be good enough to do it professionally. But four adorable, bossy, and occasionally terrifying angels arrive just in time to lead Dennis back onto the straight and narrow: the path to gastroenterology. It's all part of the plan, they tell him. But is it? This powerful piece of magical realism brings into sharp relief the conflict many teens face between pursuing their dreams and living their parents'.

About the Book

Smackdown!

Video Games vs. Medical School!

Which will win the battle for our hero's attention in Gene Luen Yang's new graphic novel?

Dennis Ouyang lives in the shadow of his parents' high expectations. They want him to go to med school and become a doctor. Dennis just wants to play video games --- and he might actually be good enough to do it professionally.

But four adorable, bossy, and occasionally terrifying angels arrive just in time to lead Dennis back onto the straight and narrow: the path to gastroenterology. It's all part of the plan, they tell him. But is it? This powerful piece of magical realism brings into sharp relief the conflict many teens face between pursuing their dreams and living their parents'.

Partnered with the deceptively simple, cute art of newcomer Thien Pham, Gene Yang has returned to the subject he revolutionized with AMERICAN BORN CHINESE. Whimsical and serious by turns, LEVEL UP is a new look at the tale that Yang has made his own: coming of age as an Asian American.

Michael Lee Harris

Reviewer

Michael Lee Harris is a Georgia-based artist who has drawn such titles as Black Wraith, Berlin 1945, Gorilla the Chinchilla, Black Hitler and many others. He earned a bachelor's degree in Illustration and a master's degree in Sequential Art. He enjoys writing, drawing comics, storyboarding, illustrating children's books and talking about himself in the third person. You can find his work on the interwebs at www.michaelleeharris.tumblr.com.

Editorial Content for Compass South

Contributors

Reviewer (text)

Aimee Rogers

In a departure from her previous graphic novels, such as MERCURY and CHIGGERS, which she wrote and illustrated, Larson is the author of her latest graphic novel, COMPASS SOUTH, while Rebecca Mock is the illustrator. COMPASS SOUTH is the first book in the Four Points series of graphic novels about redheaded twins Alexander and Cleopatra. Read More

Teaser

After escaping the Black Hook Gang in 1860 New York City, 12-year-old twins Alexander and Cleopatra flee to New Orleans, become separated, and try to find each other in San Francisco, while being followed by pirates who think they hold the key to treasure.

Promo

After escaping the Black Hook Gang in 1860 New York City, 12-year-old twins Alexander and Cleopatra flee to New Orleans, become separated, and try to find each other in San Francisco, while being followed by pirates who think they hold the key to treasure.

About the Book

After escaping the Black Hook Gang in 1860 New York City, 12-year-old twins Alexander and Cleopatra flee to New Orleans, become separated, and try to find each other in San Francisco, while being followed by pirates who think they hold the key to treasure.

July 19, 2016

“Hip Hop and Comics with Ed Piskor”

Posted by carol
Tagged:
What do hip-hop culture and comic books have in common? Join Ed Piskor, New York Times best-selling, award-winning cartoonist on hursday, August 4th at 6:30 pm as he discusses his 40-year career illuminating that connection.

Editorial Content for Brothers Unite

Contributors

Reviewer (text)

Julia Luedtke

Justin LaRocca Hansen’s BROTHERS UNITE (Secondhand Heroes) is the first installment of a nostalgic comic adventure trilogy of two brothers, Tuck and Hudson, who encounter the fantastical. Read More

Teaser

 

Tuck and Hudson are just two average suburban brothers --- until their mother buys them a scarf and an umbrella at a yard sale. Quickly, the brothers realize that these ordinary-looking objects are full of magic, and that, with the help of their squirrel sidekick, they can use that magic to fight evil. As the boys move from fighting their neighborhood nemesis to facing bigger foes, they become Stretch and Brella, the unstoppable brother superhero duo.

Promo

Tuck and Hudson are just two average suburban brothers --- until their mother buys them a scarf and an umbrella at a yard sale. Quickly, the brothers realize that these ordinary-looking objects are full of magic, and that, with the help of their squirrel sidekick, they can use that magic to fight evil. As the boys move from fighting their neighborhood nemesis to facing bigger foes, they become Stretch and Brella, the unstoppable brother superhero duo.

About the Book

Perfect for fans of Amulet, Sidekicks, and Zita the Spacegirl, this graphic novel series debut introduces Stretch and Brella, a pair of ordinary brothers whose extraordinary yard sale discovery turns them into superheroes

Tuck and Hudson are just two average suburban brothers --- until their mother buys them a scarf and an umbrella at a yard sale. Quickly, the brothers realize that these ordinary-looking objects are full of magic, and that, with the help of their squirrel sidekick, they can use that magic to fight evil. As the boys move from fighting their neighborhood nemesis to facing bigger foes, they become Stretch and Brella, the unstoppable brother superhero duo. Soon, Stretch and Brella find themselves in another realm, where they take on enormous dragons and an evil knight in an incredible graphic novel adventure.

Arthur Robins

Arthur Robins is one of the most beloved illustrators of children’s books in the UK, and has illustrated for Michael Rosen, Dick King Smith and Martin Waddell among others. He has recently illustrated several other books in the Practical Cats series, including SKIMBLESHANKS and MR. MISTOFELEES, is currently working on illustrations for Edward Lear’s NONSENSE LIMERICKS.

Becca Watts

Reviewer

Becca Watts is one of two school librarians working at a high school in the north east of England. She is the one flailing around about the book you NEED TO READ and dressing as a Shadowhunter. Becca is book/cake/dog-obsessed in equal measure and can usually found covered in icing sugar and trying to bribe people with baked goods.

John Bentlyewski

Reviewer

John Bentlyewski is a lifelong resident of Dover, New Jersey. He attended the County College of Morris before transferring to Caldwell University, where he studied Sociology with a minor in Psychology. An amateur drummer, John listens to all kinds of music. He especially enjoys the poetry of Bob Kaufman and Arthur Rimbaud, and short stories by Anton Chekhov and Jorge Luis Borges. Relaxing in his free time, hopefully, in a nice park or museum is where John can be found.