Skip to main content

Editorial Content for Compass South

Contributors

Reviewer (text)

Aimee Rogers

In a departure from her previous graphic novels, such as MERCURY and CHIGGERS, which she wrote and illustrated, Larson is the author of her latest graphic novel, COMPASS SOUTH, while Rebecca Mock is the illustrator. COMPASS SOUTH is the first book in the Four Points series of graphic novels about redheaded twins Alexander and Cleopatra. Read More

Teaser

After escaping the Black Hook Gang in 1860 New York City, 12-year-old twins Alexander and Cleopatra flee to New Orleans, become separated, and try to find each other in San Francisco, while being followed by pirates who think they hold the key to treasure.

Promo

After escaping the Black Hook Gang in 1860 New York City, 12-year-old twins Alexander and Cleopatra flee to New Orleans, become separated, and try to find each other in San Francisco, while being followed by pirates who think they hold the key to treasure.

About the Book

After escaping the Black Hook Gang in 1860 New York City, 12-year-old twins Alexander and Cleopatra flee to New Orleans, become separated, and try to find each other in San Francisco, while being followed by pirates who think they hold the key to treasure.

July 19, 2016

“Hip Hop and Comics with Ed Piskor”

Posted by carol
Tagged:
What do hip-hop culture and comic books have in common? Join Ed Piskor, New York Times best-selling, award-winning cartoonist on hursday, August 4th at 6:30 pm as he discusses his 40-year career illuminating that connection.

Editorial Content for Brothers Unite

Contributors

Reviewer (text)

Julia Luedtke

Justin LaRocca Hansen’s BROTHERS UNITE (Secondhand Heroes) is the first installment of a nostalgic comic adventure trilogy of two brothers, Tuck and Hudson, who encounter the fantastical. Read More

Teaser

 

Tuck and Hudson are just two average suburban brothers --- until their mother buys them a scarf and an umbrella at a yard sale. Quickly, the brothers realize that these ordinary-looking objects are full of magic, and that, with the help of their squirrel sidekick, they can use that magic to fight evil. As the boys move from fighting their neighborhood nemesis to facing bigger foes, they become Stretch and Brella, the unstoppable brother superhero duo.

Promo

Tuck and Hudson are just two average suburban brothers --- until their mother buys them a scarf and an umbrella at a yard sale. Quickly, the brothers realize that these ordinary-looking objects are full of magic, and that, with the help of their squirrel sidekick, they can use that magic to fight evil. As the boys move from fighting their neighborhood nemesis to facing bigger foes, they become Stretch and Brella, the unstoppable brother superhero duo.

About the Book

Perfect for fans of Amulet, Sidekicks, and Zita the Spacegirl, this graphic novel series debut introduces Stretch and Brella, a pair of ordinary brothers whose extraordinary yard sale discovery turns them into superheroes

Tuck and Hudson are just two average suburban brothers --- until their mother buys them a scarf and an umbrella at a yard sale. Quickly, the brothers realize that these ordinary-looking objects are full of magic, and that, with the help of their squirrel sidekick, they can use that magic to fight evil. As the boys move from fighting their neighborhood nemesis to facing bigger foes, they become Stretch and Brella, the unstoppable brother superhero duo. Soon, Stretch and Brella find themselves in another realm, where they take on enormous dragons and an evil knight in an incredible graphic novel adventure.

Arthur Robins

Arthur Robins is one of the most beloved illustrators of children’s books in the UK, and has illustrated for Michael Rosen, Dick King Smith and Martin Waddell among others. He has recently illustrated several other books in the Practical Cats series, including SKIMBLESHANKS and MR. MISTOFELEES, is currently working on illustrations for Edward Lear’s NONSENSE LIMERICKS.

Becca Watts

Reviewer

Becca Watts is one of two school librarians working at a high school in the north east of England. She is the one flailing around about the book you NEED TO READ and dressing as a Shadowhunter. Becca is book/cake/dog-obsessed in equal measure and can usually found covered in icing sugar and trying to bribe people with baked goods.

John Bentlyewski

Reviewer

John Bentlyewski is a lifelong resident of Dover, New Jersey. He attended the County College of Morris before transferring to Caldwell University, where he studied Sociology with a minor in Psychology. An amateur drummer, John listens to all kinds of music. He especially enjoys the poetry of Bob Kaufman and Arthur Rimbaud, and short stories by Anton Chekhov and Jorge Luis Borges. Relaxing in his free time, hopefully, in a nice park or museum is where John can be found.

Join leading comics publisher Francoise Mouly for a conversation about the wondrous possibilities for artistic and emotional expression that comics and visual narratives allow. Art editor of The New Yorker since 1993, Mouly is editorial director and publisher of TOON Books, as well as co-founder, co-editor, and publisher of the comics and graphic magazine Raw with her husband, cartoonist Art Spiegelman. In recent years, TOON Books has spurred a revival of interest in children’s comics, both vintage and contemporary.

Books to Add to Your Guy-brary, Part 2

Here at Teenreads, we want to encourage everyone to enjoy reading just as much as we do. Lately, however, it seems as though many of our readers are having trouble finding books that speak to them as guys. Back in June, we decided to curate a collection of books coming out in May-June that featured male protagonists, male narrators, or just plain great storylines that all genders can relate to.

Read more »

Funny Ladies: A Conversation with Four New Yorker Cartoonists Wednesday, June 29 at 6:30 pm at the Museum of the City of New York