Skip to main content

Bloom

Review

Bloom

written by Kevin Panetta with illustrations by Savanna Ganucheau

Graphic novelists Kevin Panetta and Savanna Ganucheau have co-written their newest graphic novel, BLOOM. BLOOM follows Ari, who has just graduated from high school and excited to finally move away from his hometown to pursue his dreams of playing for his band. However, he has trouble pursuing his dreams when his family starts to struggle with their bakery. Dead-set on finding someone to replace his job in the bakery, Ari meets a boy named Hector, and slowly the two start to catch feelings for each other.

"I adored my time reading BLOOM....There were pages in the book...which were some of the most beautiful pages I have ever seen....a cute, fun graphic novel perfect for the summertime."

I adored my time reading BLOOM. The entire book has a monochromatic blue palette art style that gave a cute summer romance vibe; I think that art can make or break a graphic novel, and the art in this one made it. There were pages in the book where there were these layouts of baking montages, which were some of the most beautiful pages I have ever seen. It is similar to SPINNING by Tillie Walden, and they both give a strong melancholy tone as well. I would strongly recommend BLOOM to fans of SPINNING (or vice versa).

One of the strong themes of the graphic novel has to do with not knowing what to do after graduating high school. Throughout the graphic novel, we watch as Ari struggles to choose between pursuing his dreams of playing in a band while at the same time knowing his family is struggling to be financially stable without him. BLOOM brings out many important issues people go through after graduating high school, and I think it’s the perfect book for people that are at that phase.

The romance itself was adorable as well. However, I would say that there was very little page time of the romance between these two boys, which left me surprised since I was expecting much more of it. Overall, I still liked it, especially since it was a slow burn romance. It’s sweet, fluffy and charming. I was just disappointed because I was expecting much more of it. Although I am also happy to say that the romance between these two boys wasn’t made a big deal in the graphic novel.

I think that the weakest point with this graphic novel would be the plot; I think this would be best for people who are looking for something cute and adorable, but not exactly life-changing. Near the second half of the book, the plot gets somewhat overdramatic, and the book leaves out some important information that happens when it jumps time periods. The ending was too rushed and could’ve been more effective if it had been built upon.

BLOOM by Kevin Panetta and Savanna Ganucheau is a cute, fun graphic novel perfect for the summertime. I would strongly recommend it for fans of CHECK, PLEASE! since they are both adorable graphic novels that involve baking, and also have sweet and happy romances.

Reviewed by Marco M., Teen Board Member on February 13, 2019

Bloom
written by Kevin Panetta with illustrations by Savanna Ganucheau